Head of the Lake

By Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson is a renowned Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg scholar, writer and artist, who has been widely recognized as one of the most compelling Indigenous voices of her generation. Her work breaks open the intersections between politics,  story and song—bringing audiences into a rich and layered world of sound, light, and sovereign creativity.

Directed by Caroline Monnet
Editing by Marc Bourcrot
Graphics by Otami

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson - Vocals
Ansley Simpson - Acoustic guitar, vocals
Nick Ferrio - Bass
Tanner Pare - Drums
Jonas Bonnetta - keyboards, synths

Produced by Jonas Bonnetta
Engineered by Heather Kirby & Jonas Bonnetta
Mixed by Gavin Gariner
Mastered by Heather Kirby
Recorded at Port William Sound

Lyrics by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson
Music by Nick Ferrio, Jonas Bonnetta, Ansley Simpson

Head Of The Lake appears on the album
Leanne Betasamosake Simpson - Theory Of Ice
Available from You've Changed Records on LP/CD/Digital formats:

Caroline Monnet:
This video was made during 2021 when Monnet and Simpson were both Matakyev Research Fellows at the Centre For Imagination in the Borderlands at the University of Arizona. Chi’miigwech to Natalie Diaz, Director of CIB and program coordinator, Gionni Ponce for their support.

We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts.

Related Content